Cooperative Hall of Fame Inductees - 2022

Four cooperative leaders, representing farm supply/marketing, electric, telephone, and financial industries, have been selected for induction into the South Dakota Cooperative Hall of Fame for 2022.  The SD Cooperative Hall of Fame is the highest honor that the cooperative community bestows on those who have made significant contributions to the state.  The inductees were selected for their leadership, integrity, and personal commitment to the cooperative system and to the state.

This year’s inductees are: 

Stan Hanson, board member of CHS based in Brandon, SD.  Hanson was a member of numerous local cooperatives, as well as active in the South Dakota Soybean Board Research and Promotions Council, as well as the United Soybean Board.  

James Headley, retired board member of Central Electric Cooperative in Mitchell.  Headley was instrumental in development of the Crow Lake Wind Project near White Lake, the largest cooperative-owned wind project in the U.S.  He and his wife, Christine, have also sponsored more than $30,000 in scholarships to dependents of Central electric members.

Bryan Roth, general manager for TrioTel Communications in Salem.  Roth has been involved in telecommunications cooperative management for nearly 30 years. He has also served on a variety of statewide telecommunications boards. 

Deino Sather, regional manager for CoBank, retired.  Sather joined CoBank in 1992, after working for the Farm Credit System in Minnesota and North Dakota. He also served on the SD Association of Cooperatives board of Directors for nearly 20 years.

The Co-Op Hall of Fame is a joint project of the SD Association of Cooperative, SD Telecommunications Association, SD Farmers Union, SD Rural Electric Association, and CHS Inc.